News

Mon, 07/03/2017

Congratulations to Cagatay and Sarah on publishing their latest work, "Naphthazarin-Polycyclic Conjugated Hydrocarbons and Iptycenes" in The Journal of Organic Chemistry!

Find the paper here: http://pubs.acs.org/doi...

Fri, 06/30/2017

Today was Kathy's last day as our group's administrative assistant.

Thank you for keeping our group very organized. We will miss you! We hope you enjoy your retirement.

  ...

Thu, 06/08/2017

Congratulations to the graduates of 2017! We wish you the best in your future career! We will miss you all.

From the left: Byungjin, Lionel, Tim, Markrete, Sarah, John.

Mon, 06/05/2017

On June 5, 2017, the Swager group held the Annual Group Dinner.

   ...

Thu, 05/25/2017

On May 25, 2017, MIT announced the launch of SENSE.nano—MIT.nano's first Center of Excellence. SENSE.nano will...

Wed, 05/11/2016

Group member Joe Azzarelli had a special day, defending his Ph.D. thesis in the morning and winning the prestigious $100K Entrepreneurship Competition this evening as part of Astraeus Technologies. Astraeus Technologies aims to provide affordable...

Thu, 07/09/2015

Several former and present Swager group members attended the 2015 International Symposium on Novel Aromatics in Madrid, Spain. It's great to see everyone doing so well!

From...

Mon, 06/22/2015

This year, four 5th year graduate students completed their PhDs. (From left to right in the photo below) John Goods, Jon Weis, Tim, Grace Han, and Kelvin Frazier were decked out in their gowns on a beautiful day for Commencement.

...

Wed, 05/13/2015

Sophie's work with metalloporphyrin/single-walled carbon nanotube sensors has been published in Chemistry of Materials. Chemiresistors are made from pristine SWCNTs or SWCNTs mixed with tetraphenylporphyrin and metal...

Mon, 04/13/2015

The Swager group's work with chemiresistive sensors has been expanded to carbon nanotube/metalloporphyrin composites that detect amines. These sensors are...